27 June 2008
Settimana Tre!
Wow, 3 weeks! The time has definitely gone by quite quickly and each day/week has been a new "adventure" of sorts. Well, this week I started taking the metro (due to the unfortunate separation with my Fiat Bravo-see previous post). For those of you that know the train system in Rome, my story may be a little more clear, but for those who aren't too familiar, I will do my best to explain! Anyways, Monday morning I got up at 5:30 so I could take the train from Castelnuovo at 6:22am. After taking the train into the city, I arrived at Piazza del Popolo/Flaminio (North Rome) and had to transfer to the metro. I took the Metro for about 8 stops to Ponte Lungo, where I had to get out of the metro, and walk to the Tuscolana Train station (so it went train, metro, train...just to keep everyone on the same page). When I got to the ticket office, I said to the lady "via Muratella per favore". She said "No... San Giovanni (referring to a metro station about 5km away)... I replied with a "No" and walked away. I was a bit confused and actually shocked that the lady didn't acknowledge my request (it wasn't because of my poor Italian, by the way). So, being the "rebel" I am, I went to the gate and boarded the train (I looked it up beforehand, so that is what I was confused about-there was indeed a train to Muratella). When this whole train fiasco was completed, I arrived at Muratella station at 8:10am, boarded a WFP shuttle and got to the office at 8:15am (nearly 2 hours!). I continued to use public transport until Wednesday when I found a co-worker at WFP who lives close by to carpool with...Evidently, she is one of my Aunt's student's mother! She is a really interesting English lady, with a great deal of knowledge about UN, and has been assigned all over Africa. So, my transportation problem is solved! The reason why the public transport took so long is because I am living northeast of the city and WFP is conviently southwest of the city (just so you know)..but of course, I enjoy living with C+F, so I have no complaints! Work is going really well, I continue to learn more each day and meet some really interesting people (and it only my third week!). This weekend, Chris is having some of her graduating seniors/teachers over for a potluck, which should be nice....and well, I plan to relax! Oh, another funny story... "Only in Italy" (the title....of the mini-story). So today when Cordelia (the lady I carpool with) dropped me off at my car (at Sacrofano train station-about 10km away from C+F's house), I noticed that I was convenietly blocked in! A truck decided to park perpendicular to my car (and there is a grocery store next door-so I didn't know whether the owner is on a train or shopping). I really didn't know what to do and well, I didn't want to run into the grocery store and start yelling in broken Italian. I started honking my horn and an obviously-lost American family looked on. Luckily enough after about 10 minutes, when I was on the phone with my Aunt a group of painters came out and moved the car. Oh well! I'll write back soon. Take care!
22 June 2008
Forza Italia!
This week flew by! I guess it was nice to get over the whole ordeal of taking finals, moving out, flying to Rome, working and jet lag phase. Plus, I was able start my real work, rather than getting oriented with my internship (which was pretty much all of last week). I have started to meet most of the interns too. They are all very interesting and from different parts of the world (America, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, etc.). Anyways, this weekend has been really relaxing! Friday night, Chris, Franco, and I went to a local restaurant in Morlupo (their town) for a pizza, to celebrate Chris finishing the school year (teaching). I also found out that their town (Morlupo) is 2400 years old! Saturday morning, I had to return my rental car... :( It was sad to see the "Bravo" go...we had a good run. Monday, I start taking the train into work, so we will see how that goes! This weekend has been full of "putzing" and getting ready for next week. I have been helping in the garden to trim bushes and picking weeds--I guess I have to earn my keep :) The weather is finally starting to be what I expected (in regards to an Italian summer)--it is 28 (x 1.8 + 32= 82.4 fahrenheit) degrees in the shade! Oh, and the best for last.... Italy plays Spain tonight in the Euro 2008 cup. It should be a good match and "football" is addicting! Well, thats about all I have for now. Take care!

15 June 2008
A Little "R & R"
This weekend was just what I needed! After working/traveling nearly 60 hours this past week, I needed some time to rest, enjoy myself (in such a neat city), and catch up. Anyways, Saturday morning I was able to run (but the hills, compared to Toledo/Columbus are not fun), help out in the garden trimming kiwi & other miscellanous bushes, and read! The weather has been perfect here...around 24 degrees celsius (75 fahrenheit), sunny, with an occasional afternoon shower. Today, I was able to go into the city for a few hours, just kind of wandering around, taking in the atmsophere and seeing my favorite Roman sites (Pantheon, Spanish S
teps, Trevi Fountain).... I had lunch in the Piazza di Spagna, visited the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, and tried to get lost the rest of the afternoon. I was able to get my "AS Roma" soccer t-shirt from a local vender too! Not to get "philsophical", but walking around brought back so many memories.... Throwing the coins into Trevi Fountain as a child (with B.E.S.T. , of course), seeing the gate where dogs were jumping around-taking a video (Rian, Matt), and seeing the really neat painter/Mozzeralla Bar (Jess, Bren, Taylor)(see pictures). So, I really enjoyed my first "full" weekend here... back to work tomorrow morning! Take care and love to family and friends!12 June 2008
I Didn't Know the World Stopped When George Bush Visits Rome!
As work is becoming a little more "routine" and I am starting to get the hang of when I have to leave, get ready, drive, etc., but of course, something changes! The "change" was George & Laura Bush visiting Italy. The whole city seemed to shut down, which I didn't expect...it took me 2 1/2 hours to get to work! The GRA (expressway that circles Rome) was stopped both ways for that time (conveniently during rush hour). Anyways, Laura Bush visited the World Food Programme which was pretty neat. I saw her in the motorcade as they went by (with 10 suburbans full of secret service agents, 4 helicopters, and what seemed to be an entire Roman legion of police). It just makes me wonder why we make such a big deal about our leaders when we go to other countries. You don't see Gordon Brown or Angela Merckel doing the same thing when they travel...oh well! I dont mean any animosity, it was just a different experience, and seeing how other citizens (not just Italians) looked at the situation. Oh funny story... so I was driving yesterday, and looked at the car next to me...the lady was reading a book while driving! (yikes). The Italians/Romans are truly good drivers, just a bit crazy, and not-law abiding... I guess it is educational rather than putting on make-up or some other distraction. Well, I will write more this weekend! Ciao..!
10 June 2008
Programme Alimentaire Mondial

I started my first day yesterday (June 9th), at the World Food Programme Headquarters in Rome, near Muratella (south-west of the city). Anyways, It has been extremely interesting getting acclimated and learning all about the operations of the World Food Programme. I am specifically working in operations management, however, I am spending the next week or so learning about the different sectors of the WFP and their responsibilities. Everyone in the office is very dedicated to their work and push for efficiency so they can increase the amount of food donated. Interestly enough, I am also learning the "ins and outs" of the UN, because most subsides use the same protocol... Driving is another issue! My first day, I got lost going there and coming back...I guess "via Aurelia" and "via Aurelia" (one is a street, the other an exit off of the highway that circles Rome) are not the same thing. Anyways, today (my second day), I did NOT get lost either way :) . The whole dynamic of the office is unique, in that on my floor alone (in one of five HQ buildings) there are more than 30 (yes, thirty) nationalities. So, besides the work, the employees themselves also are extremely interesting and "fun" to learn about. This week is an executive board conference (similar to FAO's "Food Crisis Conference" last week), so HQ is bustling with people! Well, off to bed... I will write soon! My love to family and friends!
07 June 2008
"Settled"

Now, I wouldn't normally write two days in a row (let alone probably more than once a week), but since I have the time, I figured I might as well! Well, today I picked up my car (I am renting it for 2 weeks, while my aunt finishes school, and then I can borrow her car or take public transport)... It is the "Fiat Punto Bravo", which is pretty cool, especially driving in a different country! (see picture). Anyways, tomorrow I am taking a test drive to the World Food Programme headquarters so I get a "feel" of my drive. Tonight, Chris and Franco made us "All-American" steaks on the grill and it was nice just to relax before a stressful-exciting week ahead!
I am nervous and quite eager to start interning, especially with the World Food Programme-FAO's "Rome Food Summit" just ending (over 187 countries represented)... Off to bed, take care everyone!
I am nervous and quite eager to start interning, especially with the World Food Programme-FAO's "Rome Food Summit" just ending (over 187 countries represented)... Off to bed, take care everyone!
06 June 2008
Arrivo
Well, I arrived this afternoon in Rome around 1:15pm (7:15am EST) and was happy the journey was over. The flight seemed to fly by (pun intended)... I sat next to a family that was actually on their way to Kilimanjaro for a "safari" trip on my connecting flight to Amsterdam. I was able to get some sleep, the food wasn't too bad (neither was the wine), and I had no complaints. I took a train from Fiumicino Airport to Termini (the main subway station), but of course, I couldn't fly overseas without some sort of adventure. I was fortunate enough (insert sarcasm) to have a nice, smelly french lady sit next to me. I was glad (again insert sarcasm) to have her hold open her arms, resting them so the whole train could enjoy her scent. Anyways, Franco picked me up at Lepanto metro station and we had a nice ride to Morlupo. Chris was there waiting for me, as jet-lagged, tired, and smelly (due to the french lady, believe me) as I was. She made a great dinner (carbonara) and we relaxed, watching a storm roll in. So, I made it...! That's all I have for now!
Amore,
S
Amore,
S
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

